Tag:National Player of the Year
Posted on: February 10, 2009 5:54 pm

My top three for National Player of the Year

The request came from Michael Rothstein of the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette.

It was simple.

Rank the top three National Player of the Year candidates

Turns out, Michael is conducting a straw poll with various media members, one he plans to do every couple of weeks for the rest of the season. He'll publish the poll the day after we submit ballots, which means he should have it all put together by tomorrow, and I'll be sure to relay the results. In the meantime, I figured I'd give you the three names I submitted, then list a few other players who deserve a mention.

So here goes ...

1. Blake Griffin (Oklahoma)

2. Stephen Curry (Davidson)

3. James Harden (Arizona State)

A few other players who deserve a mention (in alphabetical order): Jeff Adrien (Connecticut), DeJuan Blair (Pittsburgh), Trevor Booker (Clemson), Jon Brockman (Washington), Derrick Brown (Xavier), Nick Calathes (Florida), DeMarre Carroll (Missouri), Sherron Collins (Kansas), Darren Collison (UCLA), Dante Cunningham (Villanova), Toney Douglas (Florida State), Devan Downey (South Carolina), Tyreke Evans (Memphis), Jonny Flynn (Syracuse), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Luke Harangody (Notre Dame), Manny Harris (Michigan), Gerald Henderson (Duke), Jordan Hill (Arizona), Matt Howard (Butler), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Kalin Lucas (Michigan State), Eric Maynor (VCU), Jerel McNeal (Marquette), Jodie Meeks (Kentucky), Greg Monroe (Georgetown), Kyle Singler (Duke), Tyler Smith (Tennessee), Jeff Teague (Wake Forest), Hasheem Thabeet (Connecticut),  Evan Turner (Ohio State), Terrence Williams (Louisville), Sam Young (Pittsburgh).


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com