Blog Entry

50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award

Posted on: October 12, 2010 2:27 pm
Edited on: October 17, 2010 7:02 pm
I just filed my list of 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award.

Here's what I submitted:

(Note: My ballot did not include Baylor's LaceDarius Dunn, Kansas' Josh Selby or Kentucky's Enes Kanter because it remains unclear whether those three players will compete this season. Without eligibility issues, they'd all be included.)
  • Lavoy Allen (Temple)
  • Kevin Anderson (Richmond)
  • Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)
  • Will Barton (Memphis)
  • Talor Battle (Penn State)
  • Keith Benson (Oakland)
  • William Buford (Ohio State)
  • Alec Burks (Colorado)
  • Randy Culpepper (UTEP)
  • Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech)
  • Kim English (Missouri)
  • Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)
  • Corey Fisher (Villanova)
  • Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
  • Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
  • Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh)
  • Elias Harris (Gonzaga)
  • John Henson (North Carolina)
  • Scotty Hopson (Tennessee)
  • Robbie Hummel (Purdue)
  • JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
  • Kevin Jones (West Virginia)
  • Perry Jones (Baylor)
  • Kris Joseph (Syracuse)
  • Brandon Knight (Kentucky)
  • Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
  • Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
  • Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
  • Shelvin Mack (Butler)
  • Demetri McCamey (Illinois)
  • E'Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  • Marcus Morris (Kansas)
  • Chandler Parsons (Florida)
  • Jacob Pullen (Kansas State)
  • John Shurna (Northwestern)
  • Kyle Singler (Duke)
  • Chris Singleton (Florida State)
  • Nolan Smith (Duke)
  • Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
  • Durrell Summers (Michigan State)
  • Jeff Taylor (Vanderbilt)
  • Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  • Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
  • Klay Thompson (Washington State)
  • Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
  • Chris Warren (Ole Miss)
  • Derrick Williams (Arizona)
  • Jordan Williams (Maryland)
  • Chris Wright (Dayton)
  • Tyler Zeller (North Carolina)
Category: NCAAB

Since: Nov 18, 2007
Posted on: October 14, 2010 4:50 pm

50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award

got the wrong Missouri Tiger.  It should be Ricardo Ratcliffe instead of Kimmy English.

Since: Oct 19, 2009
Posted on: October 13, 2010 12:54 pm

50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award

I like it! I really like the fact that Kenneth Faried was included. He is great rebounder.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or