Blog Entry

My 50-player ballot for the Naismith Award

Posted on: October 9, 2009 9:22 pm
Edited on: October 9, 2009 9:26 pm

As a member of the Naismith Board of Selectors, my ballot for the 50 Preseason Watch List was due Friday.

I submitted the following ballot:

(Nominees are in alphabetical order)
  1. Solomon Alabi (Florida State)
  2. Cole Aldrich (Kansas)
  3. Al-Farouq Aminu (Wake Forest)
  4. James Anderson (Oklahoma State)
  5. Luke Babbitt (Nevada)
  6. Talor Battle (Penn State)
  7. Trevor Booker (Clemson)
  8. Matt Bouldin (Gonzaga)
  9. Kenny Boynton (Florida)
  10. Craig Brackins (Iowa State)
  11. Avery Bradley (Texas)
  12. Da'Sean Butler (West Virginia)
  13. Sherron Collins (Kansas)
  14. DeMarcus Cousins (Kentucky)
  15. Ed Davis (North Carolina)
  16. Devan Downey (South Carolina)
  17. Devin Ebanks (West Virginia)
  18. Derrick Favors (Georgia Tech)
  19. Luke Harangody (Notre Dame)
  20. Manny Harris (Michigan)
  21. Gordon Hayward (Butler)
  22. Lazar Hayward (Marquette)
  23. Xavier Henry (Kansas)
  24. Robbie Hummel (Purdue)
  25. Damion James (Texas)
  26. Wesley Johnson (Syracuse)
  27. Gani Lawal (Georgia Tech)
  28. Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
  29. Tasmin Mitchell (LSU)
  30. Greg Monroe (Georgetown)
  31. E'Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  32. Patrick Patterson (Kentucky)
  33. Jerome Randle (Calfornia)
  34. Scottie Reynolds (Villanova)
  35. Samardo Samuels (Louisville)
  36. Larry Sanders (VCU)
  37. Kyle Singler (Duke)
  38. Tyler Smith (Tennessee)
  39. Lance Stephenson (Cincinnati)
  40. Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas)
  41. Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  42. Evan Turner (Ohio State)
  43. Jarvis Varnado (Mississippi State)
  44. Greivis Vazquez (Maryland)
  45. Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
  46. John Wall (Kentucky)
  47. Willie Warren (Oklahoma)
  48. Terrico White (Ole Miss)
  49. Nic Wise (Arizona)
  50. Chris Wright (Dayton)
The Atlanta Tip-off Club is compiling all ballots and will announce the 50 Preseason Watch List later this month.

The list will then be updated and cut to 30 players in late January/early February.

The Naismith Player of the Year will be announced during the Final Four.

Blake Griffin won the award last season.

Since: Mar 21, 2008
Posted on: October 14, 2009 11:48 pm

My 50-player ballot for the Naismith Award


On first glance at your ballot, I think your biggest miss is leaving off one of the tripods of Purdue's 3-headed monster. You got Hummel and Moore, but you left off JaJuan Johnson! Those three are like peanut butter and jelly and bread, they go together!

IMO, that is a big miss! Definitely better than the Johnson you included on your list!!!

Can you say why he didn't make it? I'm really surprised that he didn't get on 3 of the 6 ballots....

Yeah, yeah, another backseat driver! Cool

Since: Oct 1, 2009
Posted on: October 10, 2009 6:50 pm

My 50-player ballot for the Naismith Award



Since: Oct 10, 2009
Posted on: October 10, 2009 12:39 pm

My 50-player ballot for the Naismith Award


How can you leave off one of the best remaining guards in the class of 2008? Elliot Williams will be one of the elite players in CBB next season. Think about it. He is the most talented player on a team with a new coach and three seniors who have never been major compenents to the program. E-Will is going to be focal point of Memphis' offense and defense. How could you leave him off?

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or